Higher Bebington Junior School is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and expects all staff, pupils and volunteers to share this commitment.  It is their right to be safe in school and our duty to ensure this. 

At Higher Bebington Junior School, safeguarding is managed in a number of ways.  This includes ensuring good behaviour, safety on the school site, anti-bullying, E-safety, pupil voice and child protection policies.

 As part of safeguarding work, we work in partnership with colleagues from other agencies.  This includes colleagues from school nursing, social care, community police, children's centres, therapists, paediatricians and other agencies. When we can, our intention is always to consult and work with parents/carers to achieve the best outcome for the child. Sometimes circumstances exist which do not allow for the consultation and the school has to take independent action in order to ensure a child is safeguarded. 

The safeguarding team at Higher Bebington Junior School help to co-ordinate all our work.   Please contact us if you need any support or advice.   

Our safeguarding team is:

  • Mrs Samantha Calveley  (Acting Headteacher)   Designated Safeguarding Lead

  • Mrs Emma Whittaker ( Acting DHT )  Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

  • Mrs Janet Devoy (Acting AHT)   Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead

SAFEGUARDING IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF EVERYONE. If a child or young person is at risk of harm, abuse or neglect please report it to the Wirral Integrated Front Door Team 0151 606 2008 9am – 5pm Monday to Friday.  Outside of these hours call 0151 677 6557.  In an emergency always dial 999